Newb alert - Difference in spec LS3050 & LS3060

Please read before posting to the forum

Moderators: HPC, Daven

Huggy75

Newb alert - Difference in spec LS3050 & LS3060

Post by Huggy75 »

Hi Guys,

Thanks for the acceptance.

I am a complete newb/novice to all this, but am currently weighing up my options with regards to which machine I should go for.

Thus far, I have been tempted by:

• Ebay laser (500x300 bed)
• LS3050
• LS3060

However, I have the following reservations:

• Ebay laser – Cheap and cheerful. Most who've reviewed it on youtube seem to be relatively happy with it, given the price (even though most have had to fudge their way through the part English/part Chinese instructions), however I am slightly concerned that the power supply is 110v 60hz which is an American standard and further down the spec it says 220v!

Do they just ignore the 10hz difference between our supply and America and have just added a step down transformer? and doesn't this affect accuracy or on-board power supply efficiency as most modern supplies are based on switch mode power supplies.

• LS3050 – I could not find anywhere in the spec to suggest that this model has a water cooling system (unlike the LS3060 which says it has a "Closed loop water system". The reason I question this is because I have read that machines which aren't water cooled, i.e. those that are air cooled are much more expensive to replace parts for, namely when the bulb goes. Apparently, in a water cooled system, it could cost anywhere between £190-300 for a replacement bulb, whereas air cooled can be between 1-3K depending on your machine. Could anyone please confirm?

• LS3060 – Looks perfect but for the price and the fact that as I've gone down this list of 3, each respective machine has got larger in dimensions!! At 1100mm wide, it is starting to encroach on what little space my garage can currently accommodate.