LS3040 X axis jammed

Moderators: HPC, Daven

Flash

LS3040 X axis jammed

Post by Flash »

Hi
I fired up the Laser for the first time a couple of days ago and have been getting to grips very slowly with the machine and software, I'm a complete novice so I have just been doing basic things like circles and text etc.
I was cutting some letters out on some cardboard today and watching the laser do its thing (not to sure i'm ever going to get bored of that!) when the head stopped moving whilst still firing the laser, it definately sounded like it wanted to move but was struggling to do so so obviously I stopped the process.
I pressed the 'datum' button which is set as standard (top left), it moved to the left but couldn't move up, although it moved a cm or two I stopped it again as the jamming sound it made didn't sound that healthy.
I've checked the teeth on the X axis belt and all are fine (after all it is brand new!),

Is there anyone that can give me any advice?, I will be ringing HPC on monday but though i'd ask here first

Cheers
John
LS3040 Pro, Lasercut 5.3
SimonMallas

Re: LS3040 X axis jammed

Post by SimonMallas »

Hi John,
With the machine turned off can you move the head freely?
Cheers Simon
Flash

Post by Flash »

Hi Simon
Yes, I can move the head freely, its not the smoothest motion but i noticed that right from the start that it seemed to move better when powered rather than moving it by hand,

cheers
John
LS3040 Pro, Lasercut 5.3
endcan

Post by endcan »

Hi Check under the guide rails when I got our latest one we had a similar problem and ot was masking tape .... use wd40 this clears it.
What speed ? sometimes this can cause problems?
belt tension - should have 3-4mm movement can move in transit. ;)
Personalised bike bitz,Metal marking,adhesive decals
Flash

Post by Flash »

endcan wrote:Hi Check under the guide rails when I got our latest one we had a similar problem and ot was masking tape .... use wd40 this clears it.